The Writer’s Marathon

In just under two months time I turn twenty-seven twenty- eight … Freudian slip/ wishful thinking, I genuinely first typed twenty-seven! But alas it’s the latter, and to mark the occasion, for some reason still unbeknown to me, I’ve decided to run the Budapest Marathon.

And so, as if to add to the many reasons why I haven’t had a chance to sit down and write for over a month, I’m now spending at least five hours a week pounding the pavements of my hometown.

It was on my run earlier this evening that I began to draw parallels between forging a writing career and a running race.

Getting a book published was never going to be a sprint, that much has always been clear to me. Getting published is an endurance sport. A steeplechase, as you face obstacle after obstacle on your way to getting published. First there’s the hurdle of the idea. The concept of the book. Then there’s the issue of committing that idea to paper, and actually finishing it. Once your book’s complete you have to find an agent … something which many of the authors I’ve met through this blog and via Twitter know all too well is one of the most challenging hurdles of the race.

With your agent onside, suddenly what started as an individual race becomes a team game, and together you unite to get your manuscript in the best working order possible.

But once the editing hurdle’s been tackled, the sport takes on a very different nature, because you as a writer are suddenly in the backseat – a spectator rather than a competitor. After years pushing forward, getting yourself and your writing over one hurdle after the next, you finally have to pass the baton over to someone else … and sit back and wait!

And I guess that’s where I am now …

I can see the finish line ahead … or my current personal finish line – publication – but as for getting there, I’ve done my leg of the race, and all I can do is watch on and cross my fingers, because (crossing sporting metaphors πŸ™‚ ) the ball is now in my agent’s court.

I’m not gonna lie, for me is the toughest part of the whole process. This week a friend at work jokingly called me a ‘control freak.’ And whilst it’s not something I’ve ever been called before, there is some degree of truth in the accusation. I like to be in control. I’m a planner. I’m efficient and organised, and if I want to achieve something, I put my mind to it and get it done. If I didn’t work that way, there would be no way I would have got into Cambridge, or achieved half the ‘extra-curricular’ things I’ve done so far in life.

But getting published isn’t like that. If I want to be taken seriously as a writer, I need an agent. And if I’m going to be represented by an agency, then I need to know when to take a step back and let them get on with their jobs.

The difficult part is that I’ve put all my efforts into my books over the past two years. I’ve spent two long years glimpsing a finish line, and now it’s finally in clear sight, I am completely powerless as to whether I’ll get there. I’ve put all possible effort into the first draft, and every subsequent draft I’ve been asked to do, and that’s my job done … for now.

So the question is, what do I do now? Because frankly, when it comes to life, I’m the world’s worst spectator!

I NEED to be doing something! I NEED to feel like I’m doing something productive. That I’m still making steps in the right direction to becoming a bona fide author.

I guess to continue with the athlete metaphors, I need to stay in pique condition, and work out exactly what training is going to be most beneficial for whatever my next writing race turns out to be.

When Flicker, my first book, was doing the rounds of publishers, I busied myself with The Dream Navigator, my second novel. The book was something completely different, a spontaneous experiment as compared to the tale of Flic Firestone which had rattled through my mind the entire time I was at university. Writing a second book was the cheat’s route to getting to my target … like running in two lanes of a race at the same time, because by finishing another book, and getting it publisher ready, suddenly I was giving myself double the chance of achieving my end goal – publication. Either book might get me there!

And that motivation worked. Sheer determination to get published, mixed with the frustrated futility that an author plays in the final stages of getting a book deal drove me to write, and to write quick. I beat all my previous records, and had ‘TDN’ finished in a few short months.

And now TDN is running the race too. My second complete, edited, novel. My second chance at getting to the publishing finish line …

But now I’m back in the spectator seats, itching to do something that might possibly help my cause.

Except the problem is, I’m tired. I feel like I’ve been running my part of the race on a treadmill, positioned just metres away from the finish line. And that no matter how hard I work, I’m still not getting any closer to that end goal.
I’ve completed three novels, and have the bare bones of three more … but I’m beginning to feel I’m lacking an incentive to write new material. I’m lacking the drive to carry on writing new stuff because I’m yet to see the fruits of any of my previous labours.

Is anyone else at this point? Where you’ve spent the majority of the last few years putting everything into your books, and yet as of yet you haven’t got anything back from them?

I’ll be honest, it IS a demoralising situation, and every day, you’re hopes get a bit smaller, a bit more jaded.

So what is there to do when you’re in that situation? When you’re fed up with playing the role of spectator, and watching from afar with crossed fingers, as an agent queries publishing houses on your behalf?

The obvious answer is to write. But as I’ve tried to explain above, sometimes that really isn’t possible. Writing is the product of inspiration and desire to write, and when you haven’t seen any positive results from your previous efforts, it can be hard to motivate yourself to continue the slog. I guess it’s a bit like running a marathon, but never seeing the mileage change.

So if you can’t write, what else is there to do?

I think these days, that’s where social media comes in. As an aspiring author, you’re not just a writer, but a self-publicist, and so I think as a progressing author, it’s important to keep up with social media. I don’t think I need to repeat how important blogs and Twitter are, it’s a topic I’ve written frequently about. But what else can an author do to busy herself? To keep her hands busy, and her mind occupied, whilst waiting for her agent to complete the relay race?

That’s where you guys come in!!

What do you do to keep occupied? How many of you are in writing limbo? Anyone else beginning to feel a bit jaded and lacking the energy to put pen to paper, despite however many new ideas you might have?

It’s funny … in some ways this is the closest thing I’ve had to writer’s block! It’s like I’m blocking myself … my own impatience and dwindling hopes is putting up a block between the ideas and the writing … because where I haven’t written properly for a month or so, my head is streaming with ideas ….

I know this is less up beat and neat than my normal blog posts, but I’d just love to hear from other authors in a similar position. Being an author in limbo can be rather lonely at times!!!!

C-C xx

 

15 Comments

Filed under Flicker, The Dream Navigator, Unsigned Author Commentary, Writing

15 responses to “The Writer’s Marathon

  1. Waiting is no fun. I know everyone says to start another project, and it’s so NOT what we want to hear when all we REALLY want is a bloody answer, goshdarnit, but … they’re right. Another project helps. Even if it’s re-organizing your closets. Busy hands, calm mind!

  2. while you’re waiting, get out there and live, experience, run that marathon. writers write because they are compelled to do it. taking breaks gives us fodder for new projects, a spark of inspiration, a snippet of dialogue, then, a new project. If you’ve found an agent, your work is good. Publication will come.

  3. Becky Wallace

    You and I are in the same place (okay, okay, I’m two years older than you). Having a book on sub is agonizing. Waiting, wondering, praying. I’m trying so hard to keep busy (not too hard with three kids, but still…). I’m writing every day, working on three different WIPs, and doing a ton of critiquing. And it does help.

    That and the large bag of chocolate in my pantry.
    Good luck!

  4. Happy birthday. Thanks for the follow. Love the blog. Good luck!

  5. SandySays1

    Well written and interesting. Patience is a virtue, however.

  6. Hi, nice to visit your blog from Twitter. I haven’t gotten to the point you have, so my first suggestion/reaction would be to write something else. But you’ve already done that! I have an agent but there’s still a lot of waiting (yep, currently in a bit of limbo myself). I sympathize! Hang in there…maybe take a break and enjoy life for now? Take a class, read books, enjoy your family. I know–hard to do when your career is still holding its breath. Feel free to me and vent whenever you like! artzicarol [at] gmail [dot] com

  7. Heh, left out a word: Feel free to WRITE to me. ;o)

  8. Dear C-C,

    Just a thought: “pique condition” is a Freudian slip too, and a rather funny one at that πŸ™‚

    I’m a bit in limbo myself, as I’m promoting a novel that came out as an ebook last month. While I am getting a little bit of attention in the form of reviews and sales, it’s completely swallowing my time. I don’t want it to go on like this because my creative side is completely dormant right now.

    I wish you the best of luck with the agent process. And congrats on having two finished book manuscripts. That’s GREAT.

    If the agent thing doesn’t work out, self-publishing on Kindle is not a bad way to go. It’s one a lot of authors are doing. Just a thought.

    Cheers,
    Gabriella

  9. Pingback: Everything’s Coming Together …. « The Career Backpacker

  10. Pingback: Everything’s Coming Together … | elementarycircle

Leave a Reply

